ECOMET Secretariat
Pavillon Magnétique Sud
Ringlaan 3
1180 Brussel
Telephone: +32 2 372 13 30

ECOMET Membership

Monday, 06 January 2020 Posted in General news

The ECOMET General Assembly at its 49th session welcomed the Slovak Hydrometeorological Institute as 28th Member of ECOMET.

Per 1 January 2020, ECOMET now has 28 Members. They are the national meteorological services of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom.

The WeatherPod - new episode

Thursday, 04 February 2021 Posted in General news

Public and private weather services in Austria

In Episode 6: Public and private weather services in Austria, hosts Alan Thorpe and David Rogers invite Michael Staudinger into the studio. Michael is the Director of the Central Institute of Meteorology and Geodynamics (ZAMG), which is Austria’s national meteorological & hydrological service. He is also the Permanent Representative of Austria to the World Meteorological Organisation, and President of the WMO Regional Association VI (Europe).

The WeatherPod can be found on ACAST, on Apple Podcasts and on the GWE Forum website

GWE Forum Webinar - 16 February

Thursday, 04 February 2021 Posted in Members

A collaborative future of the Weather Enterprise, a private sector perspective

We are pleased to announce that the Global Weather Enterprise Forum (GWE Forum) will host its third webinar on Tuesday 16 February, from 14.00 to 15.30 UTC.

Titled: ‘A collaborative future of the Weather Enterprise, a private sector perspective’, the presentation will be delivered by Peter Platzer, Chief Executive Officer of Spire Global. Peter will discuss the transformation of the global weather enterprise in the open, big data world and the audience will share perspectives and exchange thoughts through the Q&A session.

The webinar will be introduced by Maitreyi Bordia Das, who is Manager of the World Bank’s Urban, Disaster Risk Management, Resilience and Land Global Practice.

The webinar is free to attend and open to everybody.

For further information and to register, please visit: - Webinar 20 January

Monday, 11 January 2021 Posted in General news

Webinar – Autonomous vehicles: the importance of weather-related technology and data services

Date: 20 January 2021 at 15.00 - 16.30 GMT
GWE Forum member has announced the latest in its series of webinars on the business opportunities of extreme weather & climate change and here the focus is on Autonomous Vehicles or AVs. In this webinar, experts from Ford UK, NCAR and L3Harris investigate the significance of AVs and the importance of weather data for their operation.
For more information and to register click here:

GWE Forum - Online Forum 21 January

Monday, 11 January 2021 Posted in General news

Online Forum – Legislative Frameworks that Enable Public-Private Engagement

Date: Thursday, 21 January 2021 at 14.00 - 15.30 UTC
This upcoming Online Forum explores the national legal frameworks that define and establish the roles and responsibilities of each stakeholder in the global weather enterprise in their respective territories. These frameworks stress the importance of all elements of the value chain in the weather, water and climate nexus.